Compound
CJC-1295 in Humans: What Clinical Studies Exist
Human pharmacology of a DAC form exists in healthy adults. That is not a completed disease-treatment trial and not evidence for the Ipamorelin blend.
Published by Peptra Health
Published September 1, 2026
Evidence status reviewed: September 1, 2026
Evidence belongs toCJC-1295
Short answer
Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC
Human evidence for CJC-1295 exists, and it is mainly pharmacology of a long-acting DAC form in healthy adults. Teichman and colleagues measured sustained GH and IGF-I increases. Ionescu and Frohman described pulsatility. Sackmann-Sala analyzed biomarkers in already existing samples. A Phase 2 registry record is Terminated, with no results posted.
That is not a completed disease-treatment program. In 2024 FDA wrote that human studies were primarily in healthy subjects and that there was no completed disease-treatment study establishing effectiveness for the evaluated growth-hormone-deficiency use.1,5
This page inventories. It does not recommend a vial, does not specify a technique, and does not turn GH or IGF-I into muscle, fat, recovery, anti-aging, sleep, or performance. The map is in the CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin hub.
Inventory also means saying what does not belong. A no-DAC material does not belong because it shares the trade name. The blend does not belong. A terminated registry does not belong as if an outcome already existed. Form identity is in CJC-1295 with DAC versus no DAC.
Teichman 2006
How this evidence transfersComponent only — not blend evidence
Teichman, Neale, Lawrence, Gagnon, Castaigne, and Frohman published in The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism. The design is two randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind ascending-dose studies in healthy adults. The object was the long-acting form. The authors reported prolonged stimulation of GH and IGF-I secretion.1
That establishes endocrine pharmacology in healthy people under the study conditions. It does not establish that CJC-1295 treats a disease. It does not establish that a commercial no-DAC lot reproduces that curve. It does not establish that adding Ipamorelin improves, worsens, or leaves unchanged the result.1
Short-duration tolerability is also not read here as “proven safe.” A short program in healthy adults is not a long-term safety base. FDA later identified safety uncertainties and limited clinical data.1,5
Any administered quantities that appear in the original source stay in that source. This page does not turn them into practical instructions and does not describe a technique.
Ionescu 2006
Ionescu and Frohman asked whether continuous stimulation would shut down the pulsatile GH rhythm. In healthy men, pulsatility persisted. The finding belongs to secretion physiology, not to a clinical indication and not to a change in lean mass or fat.2
The paper does not administer Ipamorelin. It does not compare DAC with no DAC. It does not offer a sleep, recovery, or performance endpoint. It is cited because it completes the endocrine picture of the long-acting form, not because it widens the claims that can be made about a commercial vial.
Reading “pulsatility is preserved” as if a clinical benefit already existed would be a leap. Preserving a secretion pattern in healthy men is a physiological fact. It is not efficacy in a disease and not combination evidence.2
Sackmann-Sala 2009
Sackmann-Sala and colleagues published in Growth Hormone & IGF Research. The work is proteomic and biomarker-focused. It starts from an exposure already studied; it does not recruit a new disease-treatment program and does not define a primary clinical efficacy endpoint.3
A serum-profile change can be consistent with axis activation. It does not demonstrate that the activation produces a clinical benefit, that it is safe long term, or that it is reproduced with a no-DAC material. It is also not a trial of the CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin pair.3
That is why this paper is not added as a third efficacy trial. It is added as a secondary analysis of samples. Inventorying it without that qualification would inflate the clinical count.
NCT00267527
A terminated registry is not a published negative result and not a published positive result. It is an administrative status. In the sources reviewed as of September 1, 2026, we did not identify posted results for NCT00267527, nor an official reason for termination that the registry record itself establishes.4
This page does not invent why the study stopped. It does not turn the visceral-obesity title into an efficacy or failure claim. It does not treat the planned enrollment number as if those participants had been analyzed.
This registry is also not used to discuss the blend. The title names CJC-1295. It does not name Ipamorelin. A component registry is not a registry of the exact pair.4
FDA assessment
The sentence that matters for this page is scoped: there was no completed disease-treatment study establishing effectiveness for the evaluated GHD use. Pharmacology in healthy people and biomarkers do not fill that gap.5
The advisory committee voted on the nominations. FDA had proposed against including those substances on the 503A list. The votes are advisory recommendations. They are not a drug approval and not a drug ban.6
On safety, the Agency identified limited clinical data and uncertainties. It identified serious adverse events including increased heart rate and systemic vasodilatory reaction. This page does not translate that into “CJC causes heart problems.” It also does not offer a technique or a quantity.5,7
A 2026 review of unapproved axis peptides places those data against use outside clinical programs. A review does not replace primary sources and does not turn DAC pharmacology into a no-DAC material.8
Biomarker versus efficacy
GH and IGF-I are axis biomarkers. Raising them in healthy adults shows that the long-acting analogue, under those conditions, activates the axis. It does not show that the activation treats a disease, changes body composition, or improves an outcome a patient can feel.
Teichman measured those biomarkers. Ionescu described the pulsatile pattern. Sackmann-Sala looked at serum proteins. None of the three is a clinical efficacy trial with a prespecified, met disease endpoint.1,2,3
Editorial inventory reviewed as of 1 September 2026. This is not a meta-analysis.
| Source | Population | What it measured | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teichman 2006 | Healthy adults, 21–61 years | GH, IGF-I, pharmacokinetics | Disease efficacy; the blend; a no-DAC material |
| Ionescu 2006 | Healthy men | GH pulsatility | Body composition; the blend |
| Sackmann-Sala 2009 | Existing cohort | Serum protein profile | An independent efficacy trial |
| NCT00267527 | HIV and visceral obesity (registry) | No results posted | Why it terminated; an efficacy number |
When FDA asked for effectiveness for a nominated GHD use, it did not treat those biomarkers as enough. This page keeps that separation: the biomarker is cited; clinical efficacy is not invented.5
What they do not establish
- They do not establish clinical efficacy for treating a disease.5
- They do not establish long-term safety. Short tolerability in healthy people is not “proven safe.”1,5
- They do not establish the pharmacology of a no-DAC material. That exposure does not transfer.1,8
- They do not establish CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin evidence. Component evidence is not combination evidence.1
- They do not establish muscle, fat, recovery, anti-aging, sleep, or performance from GH or IGF-I.1,2
- NCT00267527 does not establish an outcome or a reason for termination.4
In the sources reviewed as of September 1, 2026, we did not identify a completed human disease-treatment trial that established effectiveness of CJC-1295 for the GHD use FDA evaluated, nor a trial that administered the exact pair with Ipamorelin.5
If the question is which form was studied, DAC versus no DAC. If the question is whether the mixed vial has evidence of its own, combination evidence. The index is the cluster hub.
References
Peer-reviewed clinical trial
Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC
Teichman SL, Neale A, Lawrence B, Gagnon C, Castaigne JP, Frohman LA.
Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factor I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults.J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2006;91(3):799-805. 2006
Two randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind ascending-dose studies in healthy adults aged 21–61 years. Endpoints were GH, IGF-I, and pharmacokinetics of a long-acting DAC form. Not a body-composition, performance, or combination trial.
Peer-reviewed primary research
Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC
Ionescu M, Frohman LA.
Pulsatile secretion of growth hormone (GH) persists during continuous stimulation by CJC-1295, a long-acting GH-releasing hormone analog.J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2006;91(12):4792-4797. 2006
Human endocrine-physiology study in healthy men after CJC-1295. It addresses GH pulsatility, not body composition and not the CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin blend.
Peer-reviewed primary research
Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC
Sackmann-Sala L, et al.
Activation of the GH/IGF-1 axis by CJC-1295, a long-acting GHRH analog, results in serum protein profile changes in normal adult subjects.Growth Horm IGF Res. 2009;19(6):471-477. 2009
DOI 10.1016/j.ghir.2009.03.001
Proteomic / biomarker analysis of samples from an existing CJC-1295 cohort. Not counted as an independent efficacy trial.
Clinical trial registry
Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC
A Study to Evaluate CJC 1295 in HIV Patients With Visceral ObesityClinicalTrials.gov NCT00267527. 2006
NCT00267527 · Registry status as reviewed: Terminated · checked September 1, 2026
Reported sample size: 120
No results posted
Phase 2 randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind registry record. Planned enrollment 120. Status Terminated. Registry status alone does not establish why the study stopped.
Regulatory source
Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified
December 4, 2024 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee — FDA Briefing Document for CJC-1295 Related Bulk Drug SubstancesFDA PCAC briefing. 2024
Regulatory source — United States
FDA staff evaluation of five CJC-1295-related bulk substances for a nominated growth-hormone-deficiency use. Human studies were primarily in healthy subjects. Not a final rule and not drug approval.
Regulatory source
Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified
Final Summary Minutes of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024FDA PCAC minutes. 2024
Regulatory source — United States
Official advisory-committee votes. FDA proposed against inclusion on the 503A Bulks List. These votes are not drug-approval decisions and are not a published final rule.
Regulatory source
Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified
Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety RisksFDA compounding safety page. 2026
Regulatory source — United States
As reviewed on 1 September 2026: CJC-1295 appears on the withdrawn-nomination table with immunogenicity, impurity/characterization, increased heart rate, and systemic vasodilatory-reaction language. Ipamorelin acetate remains Category 2 under the 503B interim policy and is also listed among withdrawn nominations, with IV gastric-motility serious-adverse-event language including death. FDA does not establish causality in that sentence, and route matters.
Scientific review
Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified
Dominikowski A, et al.
The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration.Front Endocrinol. 2026. 2026
DOI 10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475
Scientific review of unapproved GH-axis peptides, including the DAC versus non-DAC distinction and the gap between clinical research and self-administration. A review does not replace primary sources.
Peptra Health materials are for laboratory research use only. This article is educational and is not medical advice.
Back to CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin →
Related research
- CJC-1295 With DAC vs No DAC: Why Identity Matters
The long-acting human pharmacology was obtained with a form designed to bind albumin. That exposure is not automatically assigned to a no-DAC material.
- CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin: Is There Human Evidence for the Combination?
In the sources reviewed as of September 1, 2026, we did not identify a human trial of the exact pair. Adding the components together does not create blend evidence.
