Our only store is peptrahealth.com. We are not on Telegram, WhatsApp, or other platforms

Peptra Health
🇲🇽ES0

Investigational compound

CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin: Component Evidence vs Blend Evidence

CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin — component evidence vs blend evidence

Published by Peptra Health

Evidence status reviewed: September 1, 2026

Editorial policy

Overview

CJC-1295 and Ipamorelin act on different parts of the growth-hormone-release axis, but that does not mean the commercial combination has clinical evidence of its own. The available human studies mainly evaluate each compound separately, or combinations of other molecules in the same classes.

CJC-1295 is a synthetic analogue of growth hormone-releasing hormone / growth hormone-releasing factor. Ipamorelin is a synthetic pentapeptide growth hormone secretagogue acting through the growth-hormone-secretagogue / ghrelin receptor system. Different receptor pathways do not establish that the exact pair is synergistic, effective, safe, or superior.1,5,12

Two molecules, two pathways

Evidence belongs toCJC-1295

CJC-1295

A synthetic GHRH / growth hormone-releasing factor analogue. The principal human literature used a long-acting form with a drug-affinity complex (DAC).1,15

Evidence belongs toIpamorelin

Ipamorelin

A synthetic pentapeptide growth hormone secretagogue acting through the ghrelin / GHS receptor.5,6

Receptor detail is in GHRH, ghrelin, and two signaling pathways. Mechanism explains why the two names are discussed together. It does not replace a trial of the blend.

Before discussing the blend: which CJC was studied

FDA evaluated several related bulk substances separately: CJC-1295 free base, acetate, DAC free base, DAC acetate, and DAC trifluoroacetate. They are not chemically identical, and pharmacokinetic data should not be silently transferred among them.15,16

Catalogs and online copy often use phrases such as “CJC-1295 without DAC,” “CJC-1295 no DAC,” “modified GRF (1-29),” or “Mod GRF 1-29.” Those labels are not perfectly standardized synonyms. FDA documented identity and naming inconsistencies in the nominations.15,12

Peptra’s current catalog identifies the vial’s CJC component as CJC-1295 (No DAC), a modified GRF(1-29) analog, 10 mg together with 10 mg of ipamorelin. That is a product-identity claim, not a confirmation that the lot matches the DAC material used in the 2006 trials. The detail is in CJC-1295 with DAC vs no DAC.

Evidence map

Editorial map reviewed as of September 1, 2026. This is not a meta-analysis.

EvidenceCJC-1295IpamorelinExact combination
Human pharmacologyYes, DAC formYes, PK/PDNone identified
Randomized human outcome trialPharmacology / biomarkersPhase 2 ileus: key endpoint not significantNone identified
Phase 2 registryNCT00267527, TerminatedTwo completed recordsNone identified
Demonstrated clinical efficacyNot for a disease-treatment useNot on the published GI endpointNone identified
Long-term safetyLimited dataLimited dataNone identified
Regulatory approvalNot an FDA-approved drugNot an FDA-approved drugNo

Sources for this table 1,6,7,4,9,15,22

Direct blend evidence

Evidence belongs toExact combination

In the sources reviewed as of September 1, 2026, we did not identify a human interventional trial that administered CJC-1295 and Ipamorelin together. We also did not identify a ClinicalTrials.gov trial of the exact pair.1,7,4,9

A 2026 orthopaedic review mentions CJC-1295 combined with ipamorelin in a murine context. The primary citations for that passage administered ipamorelin alone in rats. That secondary claim is not treated here as exact-pair evidence.13,14

The inventory is in whether there is human evidence for the combination.

Why a combination hypothesis exists

Evidence belongs toRelated pathway / other compounds

There is older human literature in which a GH-releasing peptide acts together with GHRH, and literature in which ghrelin interacts with GHRH. Those molecules are not Ipamorelin or CJC-1295.10,11

That supplies a class-level mechanistic analogy: two distinct pathways can interact on GH secretion. It does not supply clinical evidence for the commercial pair. Mechanism is developed in the two signaling pathways.

What the individual studies do show

Teichman and colleagues, 2006, measured sustained GH and IGF-I increases after long-acting CJC-1295 in healthy adults. Ionescu and Frohman showed that GH pulsatility persisted. Sackmann-Sala analyzed protein profiles in samples from an existing cohort.1,2,3

Gobburu and colleagues modeled ipamorelin pharmacokinetics and GH response in volunteers. Beck and colleagues published a Phase 2 postoperative-ileus trial that did not find a statistically significant difference on the key efficacy endpoint.6,7

Those findings are detailed in CJC-1295 in humans and Ipamorelin in humans.

What cannot be added together

  • CJC-1295-alone evidence plus Ipamorelin-alone evidence is not combination evidence.1,6
  • A GH or IGF-I increase is not muscle gain, fat loss, recovery, anti-aging, sleep, or performance.1,2
  • DAC pharmacology is not automatically assigned to a no-DAC material.1,12
  • Synergy of GHRH with other GHRPs or with ghrelin is not demonstrated synergy of CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin.10,11
  • A blend certificate of analysis documents vial identity and purity. It does not demonstrate pharmacodynamic interaction or clinical efficacy.

FDA 2024 and current status

Neither CJC-1295 nor Ipamorelin is an FDA-approved drug. PCAC reviewed Ipamorelin forms on October 29, 2024 and five CJC-1295-related forms on December 4, 2024. In both cases FDA proposed against inclusion on the 503A Bulks List. The votes were advisory recommendations, not a drug approval or ban.16,18,22

As of September 1, 2026, we did not identify a later final rule placing them on the 503A list. CJC-1295 appears on the official withdrawn-nomination table. Ipamorelin acetate remains Category 2 under the 503B interim policy and is also listed among withdrawn nominations. Detail is in FDA, compounding, and WADA status.21,19,20

WADA 2026

WADA’s 2026 Prohibited List, section S2.2.4, explicitly names CJC-1295 as a GHRH analogue and ipamorelin as a growth hormone secretagogue / mimetic. That is informational context, not detection or evasion guidance.23,24

What we do not know

  • What would happen in a human trial that administered the two specific molecules from a commercial vial together.13
  • Whether a no-DAC material reproduces the exposure of the DAC form published in 2006.1,12
  • Long-term safety of either compound outside the short clinical programs already published.15,21
  • Why NCT00267527 is Terminated; the registry record alone does not establish the cause.4
  • Efficacy numbers for NCT01280344: the registry is Completed and, as of the September 2026 review, posts no results.9

Explore research

Six pages cover distinct intents: DAC versus no-DAC identity; human CJC-1295 evidence; human Ipamorelin evidence; the two receptor pathways; exact-pair evidence; and FDA/WADA status.

Analytical documentation

A blend COA can report analytical identity and purity of the material. It does not prove pharmacodynamic synergy, clinical safety, or clinical efficacy. See the CJC-1295 / Ipamorelin certificate archive and, if you are looking for the research material, the product page.

Explore the cluster

Related documentation

References

  1. Peer-reviewed clinical trial

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC

    Teichman SL, Neale A, Lawrence B, Gagnon C, Castaigne JP, Frohman LA.

    Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factor I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults.

    J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2006;91(3):799-805. 2006

    DOI 10.1210/jc.2005-1536

    PubMed

    Two randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind ascending-dose studies in healthy adults aged 21–61 years. Endpoints were GH, IGF-I, and pharmacokinetics of a long-acting DAC form. Not a body-composition, performance, or combination trial.

  2. Peer-reviewed primary research

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC

    Ionescu M, Frohman LA.

    Pulsatile secretion of growth hormone (GH) persists during continuous stimulation by CJC-1295, a long-acting GH-releasing hormone analog.

    J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2006;91(12):4792-4797. 2006

    DOI 10.1210/jc.2006-1702

    PubMed

    Human endocrine-physiology study in healthy men after CJC-1295. It addresses GH pulsatility, not body composition and not the CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin blend.

  3. Peer-reviewed primary research

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC

    Sackmann-Sala L, et al.

    Activation of the GH/IGF-1 axis by CJC-1295, a long-acting GHRH analog, results in serum protein profile changes in normal adult subjects.

    Growth Horm IGF Res. 2009;19(6):471-477. 2009

    DOI 10.1016/j.ghir.2009.03.001

    PubMed

    Proteomic / biomarker analysis of samples from an existing CJC-1295 cohort. Not counted as an independent efficacy trial.

  4. Clinical trial registry

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295 DAC

    A Study to Evaluate CJC 1295 in HIV Patients With Visceral Obesity

    ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00267527. 2006

    NCT00267527 · Registry status as reviewed: Terminated · checked September 1, 2026

    Reported sample size: 120

    No results posted

    Phase 2 randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind registry record. Planned enrollment 120. Status Terminated. Registry status alone does not establish why the study stopped.

  5. Preclinical study — animal

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Raun K, Hansen BS, Johansen NL, et al.

    Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue.

    Eur J Endocrinol. 1998;139(5):552-561. 1998

    DOI 10.1530/eje.0.1390552

    PubMed

    Preclinical pharmacology in rat pituitary cells, rats, and swine. Selectivity findings from this paper are not unconditional human safety language.

  6. Peer-reviewed primary research

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Gobburu JVS, Agersø H, Jusko WJ, Ynddal L.

    Pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic modeling of ipamorelin, a growth hormone releasing peptide, in human volunteers.

    Pharm Res. 1999;16(9):1412-1416. 1999

    DOI 10.1023/A:1018955126402

    PubMed

    Reported sample size: 40

    Human PK/PD study in healthy male volunteers at five infusion-rate levels with eight subjects at each level. Establishes pharmacology, not fat-loss, muscle, sleep, performance, or blend efficacy.

  7. Peer-reviewed clinical trial

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Beck DE, Sweeney WB, McCarter MD; Ipamorelin 201 Study Group.

    Prospective, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept study of the Ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for the management of postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients.

    Int J Colorectal Dis. 2014;29(12):1527-1534. 2014

    DOI 10.1007/s00384-014-2030-8

    PubMed

    NCT00672074

    Reported sample size: 117

    Phase 2 randomized trial. Enrollment 117; safety / modified ITT 114. The key efficacy endpoint, time to tolerance of a standardized solid meal, did not reach statistical significance. Not blend evidence.

  8. Clinical trial registry

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Safety and Efficacy of Ipamorelin for Management of Post-Operative Ileus

    ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00672074. 2009

    NCT00672074 · Registry status as reviewed: Completed · checked September 1, 2026

    Reported sample size: 117

    Published as Beck 2014

    Phase 2 registry companion to the published Beck 2014 paper. Registry completion is not independent efficacy evidence beyond the published report.

  9. Clinical trial registry

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Safety and Efficacy of Ipamorelin Compared to Placebo for the Recovery of Gastrointestinal Function

    ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01280344. 2014

    NCT01280344 · Registry status as reviewed: Completed · checked September 1, 2026

    Reported sample size: 320

    No results posted

    Completed Phase 2 registry record, enrollment 320, study completion May 2014. No results posted on ClinicalTrials.gov as of the 1 September 2026 review. A completed registry is not a published numerical efficacy paper.

  10. Peer-reviewed primary research

    Studied moleculeOther GHRH + GHS pair

    Bowers CY, et al.

    Growth hormone (GH)-releasing peptide stimulates GH release in normal men and acts synergistically with GH-releasing hormone.

    J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1990. 1990

    PubMed

    Human mechanistic combination study of a GH-releasing peptide with GHRH. Not a study of Ipamorelin plus CJC-1295.

  11. Peer-reviewed primary research

    Studied moleculeGhrelin + GHRH

    Arvat E, et al.

    Endocrine activities of ghrelin, a natural growth hormone secretagogue (GHS), in humans: comparison and interactions with hexarelin, a nonnatural peptidyl GHS, and GH-releasing hormone.

    J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2001. 2001

    PubMed

    Human endocrine/mechanistic study of ghrelin, hexarelin, and GHRH. Not a study of Ipamorelin plus CJC-1295.

  12. Scientific review

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified

    Dominikowski A, et al.

    The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration.

    Front Endocrinol. 2026. 2026

    DOI 10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475

    PubMed

    Scientific review of unapproved GH-axis peptides, including the DAC versus non-DAC distinction and the gap between clinical research and self-administration. A review does not replace primary sources.

  13. Scientific review

    Studied moleculeExact CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin pair

    Mayfield CK, et al.

    Injectable Peptide Therapy: A Primer for Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Physicians.

    Am J Sports Med. 2026. 2026

    DOI 10.1177/03635465251357593

    PubMed

    Narrative sports-medicine review. The results text attributes a murine tetanic-tension finding to CJC-1295 combined with ipamorelin, but the cited primary experiments administered ipamorelin alone. Cited here as a secondary claim to be audited, not as exact-pair evidence.

  14. Preclinical study — animal

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Andersen NB, Malmlöf K, Johansen PB, Andreassen TT, Ørtoft G, Oxlund H.

    The growth hormone secretagogue ipamorelin counteracts glucocorticoid-induced decrease in bone formation of adult rats.

    Growth Horm IGF Res. 2001;11(5):266-272. 2001

    PubMed

    Adult-rat study of ipamorelin alone under glucocorticoid exposure. Not a CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin combination experiment and not a human trial.

  15. Regulatory source

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified

    December 4, 2024 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee — FDA Briefing Document for CJC-1295 Related Bulk Drug Substances

    FDA PCAC briefing. 2024

    Regulatory source — United States

    FDA staff evaluation of five CJC-1295-related bulk substances for a nominated growth-hormone-deficiency use. Human studies were primarily in healthy subjects. Not a final rule and not drug approval.

  16. Regulatory source

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified

    Final Summary Minutes of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024

    FDA PCAC minutes. 2024

    Regulatory source — United States

    Official advisory-committee votes. FDA proposed against inclusion on the 503A Bulks List. These votes are not drug-approval decisions and are not a published final rule.

  17. Regulatory source

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    October 29, 2024 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee — FDA Briefing Document for Ipamorelin-Related Bulk Drug Substances

    FDA PCAC briefing. 2024

    Regulatory source — United States

    FDA staff evaluation of ipamorelin free base and ipamorelin acetate for growth hormone deficiency and postoperative ileus. Not a final rule and not drug approval.

  18. Regulatory source

    Studied moleculeIpamorelin

    Final Summary Minutes of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, October 29, 2024

    FDA PCAC minutes. 2024

    Regulatory source — United States

    Official advisory-committee votes on ipamorelin free base and acetate. FDA proposed against inclusion on the 503A Bulks List. Advisory recommendation, not drug approval.

  19. Regulatory source

    Bulk Drug Substances Used in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act

    FDA 503A compounding page. 2026

    Regulatory source — United States

    Official description of the 503A bulks list, the 2019 final rule, later proposed amendments, and interim Category 1/2/3 policy. Category placement is not drug approval.

  20. Regulatory source

    Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A

    FDA 503A nominated-substance list. 2026

    Regulatory source — United States

    Official 503A nomination categories reviewed as of the September 1, 2026 evidence date. Absence from Category 1 or the final bulks list is not itself a published final exclusion rule for every named peptide. Same FDA document as the GHK-Cu nomination entry; kept as a distinct ID because CJC/Ipamorelin pages cite this context.

  21. Regulatory source

    Studied moleculeCJC-1295, form not specified

    Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks

    FDA compounding safety page. 2026

    Regulatory source — United States

    As reviewed on 1 September 2026: CJC-1295 appears on the withdrawn-nomination table with immunogenicity, impurity/characterization, increased heart rate, and systemic vasodilatory-reaction language. Ipamorelin acetate remains Category 2 under the 503B interim policy and is also listed among withdrawn nominations, with IV gastric-motility serious-adverse-event language including death. FDA does not establish causality in that sentence, and route matters.

  22. Regulatory source

    List of Bulk Drug Substances That Can Be Used To Compound Drug Products in Accordance With Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act

    84 FR 4696. 2019

    Regulatory source — United States

    The 2019 final 503A bulks rule placed six substances on the list and identified four that were not included. CJC-1295 and Ipamorelin are not among those listed substances.

  23. Anti-doping source

    The 2026 Prohibited List

    WADA Prohibited List 2026. 2026

    Anti-doping source — WADA

    Anti-doping status is not a medical or regulatory approval decision. Athletes should verify the current official list.

  24. Anti-doping source

    The 2026 Prohibited List (official PDF)

    WADA Prohibited List 2026. 2026

    Anti-doping source — WADA

    Section S2.2.4 names CJC-1295 as a GHRH analogue and ipamorelin as a growth hormone secretagogue / mimetic. Anti-doping status is informational and is not a medical approval decision. Detection windows and evasion information are not used.

Peptra Health materials are for laboratory research use only. This article is educational and is not medical advice.